Spring Break!

Hello family, friends, and Jessica’s mom ๐Ÿ™‚

Spring break was absolutely incredible. My mom flew in last Friday and we spent the week traveling all over South Africa! It was so much fun to be able to show her around my neighborhood and the places I love to go to. We did so much that it would be impossible to tell everything!

When my mom first arrived, I gave her a tour of my town (which she said was a lot sketchier than she imagined). She also noticed that a lot of people in my town will stare at us because we are white. I had to remind my mom that whites are still a minority in South Africa, only 10% of the population is white. In my neighborhood, I would say that 99% of the people who live here are black and the only white people are the students. The university is more integrated at about 50 percent white. I gave my mom a tour of the university which she absolutely adored, the campus is truly beautiful. We went on a tourist red bus tour of Cape Town that stopped at all of the highlights of the city which was super fun. We also took the cable car up to the top of Table Mountain!

On Sunday, we went on an all day wine tour. We stopped at three different wineries and were given tours of the cellar. We ended up buying four bottles of really nice wine ($5 a bottle!). My mom was shocked over how cheap everything is here. You can get a nice dinner with a glass of wine for like $8 American dollars total. Wine tasting was one of my favorite days of the whole spring break ๐Ÿ™‚

From Monday to Friday, we went on a five day driving tour around South Africa, where we stopped at different beach towns, landmarks, national parks, and animals! We saw all different types of animals like giraffe, elephants, zebras, lions, everything! Two of the days we were out in the open on a jeep, where we got super close to the wild animals. We stopped at an ostrich farm and I was able to feed and even ride an ostrich! We also stopped at an elephant reserve where we were able to walk hand and trunk with the elephants, feed them apples, and ride them. Some other cool things we did were riding on a speed boat in the ocean, getting a tour of a huge underground cave system, hiking, and lots of shopping and dining out. We stayed in hostels the entire trip, but they were actually really nice and comparable to a 3-4 star hotel for the most part.

Another exciting thing I did was the highest bungee jump in the world!! It was a 216m free fall, it was the scariest thing of my whole life! I wasn’t originally planning to do it, but I’m so glad I did.

Overall, it was such an amazing week. Now back to reality… lots of papers and tests this week!

Link to bungee Jump video: https://vimeo.com/124288523

IMG_5948ย IMG_5272_2 IMG_5842_2 IMG_5328 IMG_5150 IMG_5332 IMG_5375IMG_5889ย IMG_5821 IMG_5740

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Savannah I love reading about your trip!! I’m glad you are enjoying it, sounds like you are doing some amazing things๐Ÿ˜„

    Like

Leave a Reply

